You Will Never Ever See Another Film Like The Boxer’s Omen, Never.

Filmofile
2 min readFeb 18, 2020

--

About a month ago I ordered a bluray from what I can only imagine was a pirate. I paid twelve bucks for a disc that contained 6 films by Hong Kong filmmaker, Chih-Hung Kuei. The Boxers Omen was the main one I was looking for. It was Made in 1983 in Thailand and has a reputation as The Holy Grail of cult films. As I was to find out Holy Grail doesn’t begin to cover it. The Boxer’s Omen is a watershed, a landmark that demarcates some kind of bizarre limit of what is imaginable. It swings wildly from ridiculous to sublime. Imagine a meth fueled Ménage à trois between David Cronenberg, Ken Russell and Alejandro Jodorowsky.

--

--

Filmofile

I have an MFA in painting and I’m an art professor but I managed to convince my school to let me teach film. My website http://www.filmofileshideout.com/